2017

I’ve been on a “getting rid of stuff” spree this week.  Shredding old paperwork, selling things on Ebay and Gumtree and filling bags to be given to charity.  I find that the end of the year always brings out something in me.  I suddenly realise a whole year has passed and I still haven’t done all those things I meant to do from the start of the year.  Does that happen to you too?

I guess it’s good in a way – the reason I haven’t done a lot of those things is because I’ve been so busy this year, in a positive way.  Of course I’ve been privileged to continue to work with the most amazing clients who are so genuine, creative and open to ideas.  I really do feel so lucky.  And now to be supported by a team of stylists who are all so enthusiastic and fabulous at what they do is the icing on the cake!  Over the past couple of months I’ve been working on a rebrand with the wonderful Natashia from Acqua Design Studio, which is all very exciting but also hard work.  It will be well worth it though once we unveil our new logo and website which will be a much better representation of where we are at right now.

Apart from this I’ve continued with my part time job and am so fortunate to have an employer who is so flexible and supportive of what I do.  Although I love running a business it can sometimes be a bit isolating – yes, I meet with clients and I communicate with other suppliers, but most of it these days is done from behind a keyboard.  So it’s really nice to go to a regular office job for a few days a week where I communicate face to face with people and use my brain in a different way.

I’m still writing for Nouba and Planet Books’ reviewer program, and I’ve also recently taken on the role of Editorial Assistant with Nouba which is pretty much a dream gig for me and one of the most exciting things that’s happened to me this year.  Checking out pics of people’s gorgeous weddings and styled shoots to decide what we publish – what’s not to love?!  Ok, admittedly it’s difficult when you have to say no and I kind of wish we could publish everything that lands in our inbox… But it’s a small price to pay to be able to do a job that combines my love of weddings and my love of media!  I have to thank Tamarin so much for the opportunities she’s given me over the last few years – she is one very clever lady and how she juggles it all with her gorgeous little man I don’t know!

And when I’m not working I can usually be found taking long walks with Dan and Jensen which has been a really positive addition to my life over the past nearly 2 years!  I started walking for Jensen but now I really love our walks and think I get a much out of it as he does.  Dan and I certainly spend a lot more time outdoors and away from screens which is important, and we’ve discovered so many new pockets of Perth – we really do live in such a beautiful city.

Anyway, so that’s what’s been keeping me busy in 2017.  And what about 2018?  Well, I’m working with some really great couples at the moment and it’s going to be a year filled with fun and unique weddings, that’s for sure.  I think as each year passes people get more and more creative, wanting to do something different to what’s been done before –  I love it!  I don’t see myself getting any less busy any time soon, but I do think that my work over the coming year will be more balanced and I’ll be doing more of what I enjoy and less of what I don’t.  I think (hope!) travel is going to be on the cards but where or when I do not know!  And trying to be more financially responsible (although I say that every year…)  I’m also going to have a little niece or nephew – the first on my side of the family – so hopefully some baby cuddles will be coming my way!  And of course there will be plenty more long walks with Jensen.

And what about you my friends??  What have you achieved in 2017 and what are your sights set on for 2018?  Leave a comment below!

untitled-16

Image by CJ Williams Photography, hire by Pretty Willow and Flights of Fancy, florals by Fox & Rabbit, stationery by Paige Tuzee, for Nouba at Stackwood Hall.


Leave a comment