patricia & gerry: 40th wedding anniversary celebration

My parents-in-law celebrated their 40th wedding anniversary in November and asked me to help to organise and style a lunch at Sandalford Estate Winery for their family and close friends.

My mother-in-law told me she trusted me and wanted me to do “whatever I wanted” – a stylist’s dream come true!!!  But with that came pressure… What if I got it all wrong and they didn’t like what I’d done???  I wanted it to be so special for them as they have done so much for my husband and me over the years.  I have to admit that out of all the events I’ve styled this was one of the most nerve-wracking!

In the end we settled on a vintage theme with a touch of elegance, featuring soft pinks, gold and cut glass.  I worked with the incredible Katie Cooper Floral Design who was as amazing as always and was totally keen and excited when I contacted her a couple of weeks before to tell her I thought we needed some foliage garlands!  Her Handpicked Harvest supplied the gorgeous furniture, including a cabinet which my husband and I had used at our wedding in 2011.  We used it to display the desserts on our beautiful white ceramic and pink glass pedestals.  On the other side of the room we set up a photo table which also acted as a backdrop for the speeches.

Children have become an important part of my parents-in-law’s lives with my sister-in-law’s two little ones and many of my husband’s cousins with children too.  So we set up a little kids’ area in one corner with small chairs and tables, bean bags and lots of fun activities (thanks to my sister-in-law who knows what kids like much better than I do!).

It turned out to be a really lovely and fun day.  My own family were guests too so it was nice for them to be able to see my work too, and I finally got the dance with my Dad that I’d missed out on at our wedding!

Congratulations Trish and Gerry and thank you – not only for trusting me to style your celebration but also for being the loving, generous and kind parents-in-law that you are!  I am very lucky to have been welcomed so warmly as part of your family from the day I first met you.

Thanks to the wonderful Holly from HDee Shorter Photography for capturing the day so beautifully! 001 004 008 014 018 024Flights of Fancy-18Flights of Fancy-23Flights of Fancy-4Flights of Fancy-30Flights of Fancy-25Flights of Fancy-26002Flights of Fancy-31051054056059067068069074078080081082083089095092101Flights of Fancy-5Flights of Fancy-10Flights of Fancy-35071Flights of Fancy-13Flights of Fancy-12Flights of Fancy-11Flights of Fancy-14Flights of Fancy-15Flights of Fancy-16Flights of Fancy-2Flights of Fancy-36Flights of Fancy-33Flights of Fancy-34Flights of Fancy-37Flights of Fancy-22Flights of Fancy-21103121117120111114

Leave a Reply

