a weekend away for work and play

Southwest Western Australia is an area that is very special to me.  It’s where I spent my family holidays as a child and where I’ve shared many long weekends with my husband since we met.

My favourite time to visit is definitely winter. It’s quieter and greener, and there is nothing nicer than sitting out in the winter sun or in front of a warm fire with a nice glass of red wine!

This past long weekend my husband and I travelled down to Yallingup as I had to attend a few meetings for my clients who are getting married there in February next year and we thought we might as well take the opportunity to have a weekend away.  Because it was a long weekend it was a bit too busy for my liking, but it was still lovely to be down there.

As usual we spent most of our weekend eating and drinking!  We finally visited Studio Bistro for dinner, after hearing so many positive things about it, and it did not disappoint!  Amazing food and excellent service in unique surroundings.  We also had dinner at Lamont’s at Smiths Beach which was a bit of a let down, especially after our experience at Studio Bistro the night before.  The food at Lamont’s was just okay, the service was below standard and there just wasn’t any atmosphere despite the restaurant being full.  We did however enjoy the supper club afterwards at the next door bar which featured a live jazz band – the same band in fact that played at our wedding!

One of our favourite things to do on weekends and holidays is go out for breakfast.  On Saturday we ate at Bunkers Beach Cafe which was, as usual, excellent.  On Sunday we discovered a new breakfast option thanks to Urban Spoon – Goanna Cafe & Gallery.  It’s basically a gallery/shop filled with objects that belong in your nanna’s house but the food and coffee were great.  My husband loves what he calls a “normal” breakfast – he isn’t into all the fancy stuff, just wants his bacon and eggs – and this place did that really well.

We also tasted wines and spent an afternoon sitting out in the sunshine at Hayshed Hill.  It was lovely, but they were clearly under-staffed for what was a really busy day.  The staff that were there did a great job and were apologetic for the lack of service and the waiting time but were obviously under a lot of pressure.  We enjoyed our afternoon anyway as we weren’t in a hurry and we discovered a new wine that we both really liked, their Shiraz Tempranillo.

Work-wise I met some lovely people over the weekend.  On Saturday I met with Arlene from Sugar Mummy for a cake tasting.  Her beetroot and chocolate cake – to die for!  And her white chocolate frosting…!  I tasted about six flavours of cake and they were all beautiful.  Then I headed to Wise Winery and met with Brady who is the Functions Manager there.  Such a beautiful place to get married out on the lawn there and Brady was so helpful and accommodating.  On Monday I visited Diane from Cape of Love and had a poke around in her shed which is filled with gorgeous vintage props for hire including china, silverware and furniture.  If you are looking for vintage or shabby chic style props at very reasonable prices then Diane is your lady!  She also has a lovely property which can be used for styled shoots.

It was a very productive but also quite relaxing weekend – one of those that makes me realise how lucky I am to live in such a beautiful state and to be able to escape for weekends like this.

10182_10151582151857368_429400797_n

Beautiful moo cows enjoying the green green grass…

935885_10151583952377368_213032635_n

All rugged up on the beach near Eagle Bay – glad I bought this nice warm jacket on my recent trip to Melbourne!

971141_10151464361481733_752308253_n

Enjoying afternoon tea – my husband has a real sweet tooth and looks a little bit grumpy in this photo because he couldn’t have a Devonshire tea which was what he really wanted!

Leave a Reply

