featured wedding: catherine & bobby

Today I am so excited to share with you a wonderful wedding we helped to style back in December last year.

Catherine was the perfect bride – relaxed but super organised and full of great ideas.  It was so much fun to work with her, building on the bits and pieces she had already organised to bring the day together.

Bobby is from California and many of the wedding guests travelled to WA from California and other overseas destinations, so a world/travel theme was carried through the styling.  We used heart shaped garlands made from pages of an atlas, atlas print cushions, vintage suitcases, a large personalised atlas print for guests to sign, and bespoke stationery featuring a travel theme.

The ceremony was exactly what I picture when I think of an Australian wedding, held on the white sands of Bunker Bay with the clearest of clear blue skies.  Afterwards guests enjoyed an intimate reception at Bunkers Beach Cafe which was the perfect venue, relaxed yet elegant.

Catherine and Bobby’s wedding was everything a wedding should be – a coming together of two families and celebration of a beautiful relationship.  I feel so lucky to have been a part of their day.

Catherine tells the story of how she and Bobby met and how their wedding came together.

“Bobby and I met at a university party back in 2005. He had arrived here from California to further his studies and catch some famous west oz waves, although after meeting me he ended up with much more than that. We spent a number of years dating, learning more about each other and falling in love with each other more everyday (most days!). When we decided to get married just a little over two years ago now it was because we agreed that we both wanted to build our lives further and start a family together.
 
As all of Bobby’s family was travelling from overseas and some of my friends and family (plus we also love to travel) we thought we would play on that a bit. We decided on a small wedding of around 40, as it was the first time Bobby’s family had come over to visit, so in our minds a casual family dinner feel to the night sounded perfect. We really wanted our guest to know that because of everything they had done for us both individually and as a couple that the wedding was just as much their night for us to thank them. Looking back it was so nice being able to go and sit down with each of my guest on the night and have a conversation without the night feeling like a big blur! 

With my trusty Pinterest boards I scoured the internet for everything, including my dress! I soon realised with Kristy’s guidance I had started a bit of a travel theme with a duck egg blue palette, so I ran with it. With the ceremony I was very aware that a beach wedding can look a little randomly placed so I researched hard to find a way to make it look more formal. I eventually came up with the idea of have a babies breath garland hanging behind Bobby and I which I felt gave the ceremony a bit more intimacy for both us and our guests. With the flower garland, rows of chairs, a rustic signing table and the pristine beach behind us it looked absolutely perfect and was exactly what I wanted.

A moment I remember vividly, other than my vows, (because I was actually running a little early) was when I popped my head inside the cafe before heading down to the ceremony. There was Kristy, Bec my florist plus their husbands and all the cafe staff working hard to turn my dream into reality, and although they were not quite finished I was already so impressed with how everything looked and I knew that this was really going to be the best night ever! I loved every minute of planning and looking back on my day I wouldn’t have changed a single thing. I feel so blessed to have had such an amazing day and to now be married to my best friend.”

Congratulations Catherine and Bobby!  And thank you so much to the very talented Hannah Jones of Keeper Creative for sharing these images with us, and Orriss Films for sharing the amazing film trailer.

bobcat-2

bobcat-3

bobcat-4

bobcat-5

bobcat-6

bobcat-1

bobcat-7

bobcat-31

bobcat-10

bobcat-12

bobcat-13

bobcat-21

bobcat-22

bobcat-24

bobcat-35

bobcat-32

bobcat-34

bobcat-36

bobcat-37

bobcat-38

bobcat-40

bobcat-48

bobcat-53

bobcat-54

bobcat-57

bobcat-56

bobcat-59

bobcat-64

bobcat-65

bobcat-66

bobcat-68

bobcat-70

bobcat-71

bobcat-73

bobcat-76

bobcat-77

bobcat-78

bobcat-79

bobcat-81

bobcat-82

bobcat-88

bobcat-90

bobcat-91

bobcat-92

bobcat-95

bobcat-96

bobcat-98

bobcat-99

bobcat-101

bobcat-107

bobcat-112

bobcat-113

bobcat-114

bobcat-115

bobcat-116

bobcat-136

bobcat-144

bobcat-161

bobcat-174

bobcat-129

bobcat-155

bobcat-160

bobcat-162

bobcat-165

bobcat-166

bobcat-158

bobcat-157

bobcat-50

bobcat-43

bobcat-196

bobcat-46

bobcat-178

bobcat-179

bobcat-180

bobcat-181

bobcat-182

bobcat-183

bobcat-185

bobcat-186

bobcat-188

bobcat-189

bobcat-190

bobcat-191

bobcat-192

bobcat-193

bobcat-194

bobcat-195

bobcat-196

bobcat-197

bobcat-198

bobcat-199

bobcat-207

bobcat-209

bobcat-210

All images by Hannah Jones of Keeper Creative; Videography by Orriss FilmsStyling and planning by Flights of Fancy by Kristy; Florals by Fox & Rabbit; Cake by Edible Art; Furniture and decor hire from Zest Styling and Vintage Dreams.

Leave a Reply

