au revoir 2012!

2012 has been possibly the most defining and fulfilling year of my life so far.

It was my first year of marriage and was everything I hoped my first year of marriage would be.  After 10 years together I didn’t think that getting married would change our relationship, but it has in a way that I can’t really describe.  Even though we’ve been totally committed to one another for such a long time, there is something about taking a vow to stay together forever that takes your relationship to another level.  We ended our first year of marriage in the most perfect way, with a very special vow renewal ceremony and holiday which was much needed after the busy year we had.

It was also my first year of running my business, Flights of Fancy.  It’s something that I’ve wanted to do for a long time, and when I look back now I can see I have been working towards this for many years without necessarily realising it.  A year ago I was working on my business plan, attending small business workshops and researching the industry.  I started promoting my business and participated in my first bridal fair, First Comes Love, in May.  I still had doubts about whether people would hire me despite the fact that I had only just started my business but that didn’t seem to be a problem at all.  People seemed excited to have someone on board who was fresh to the industry and who was in tune with their ideas and style.  I set some goals for my business over 2012 and achieved them all, and more.  I was privileged to work with the most wonderful clients who really put their faith in me and with the most talented vendors who have all been so supportive and encouraging.  Each wedding I worked on this year gave me such a sense of satisfaction and achievement, more so than any other work I’ve done.

My year would not have been as successful as it was without my family and friends there to support me.  In particular, my parents and brothers who have showed so much interest in and enthusiasm for everything I am doing, my closest friends who have encouraged and advised me and put up with my lack of availability over the past year, and my darling husband who has truly been incredible, not only by being there to encourage me and act as my sounding board, but also by providing free labour as required!  Also a big thank you to my fabulously talented cousin Tessa and her husband Leon for taking care of all my design needs.  I love you all so much and thank you from the bottom of my heart!

It is with a sense of satisfaction that I say goodbye to 2012 and look ahead to 2013 which I hope is just as rewarding.  Here are some of my favourite moments of 2012.

Birthday lunch with my gorgeous Mum…

Mum

My Dad’s 60th birthday…

IMG_0440

Hangin’ with my bro’s…

IMG_0448

Road trippin’ with the hubby…

Road trip

Fun birthday celebrations and awesome gifts!

Purse reunion

Birthday

First anniversary trip to Tassie and vow renewal ceremony in Hobart (images by Jonathan Wherrett)…

1

K+D_126

And some of my favourite work for the year…

Moments of 2012

Images 1, 2, 3, 7, 9, 10 and 12 by CJ Williams Photography; Images 4, 6 and 8 by Jemma Keech.

Leave a Reply

