have you met… {carly williams}

If you have been following my blog you probably already know Carly Williams of CJ Williams Photography.  Carly and I have done a couple of styled shoots together which you can see here and here and she also took some fun shots of me with my husband which you can see here.

Carly is one of the most lovely, sweet and creative  people I’ve met and would be a fabulous addition to anyone’s special day.  She is all about capturing the fun and emotion of the day as well as all the lovely little details and is always flexible in her approach, tailoring her packages to suit her clients’ needs.

I love working with Carly and I’m sure you will too!  Here is a little Q&A with Carly so you can get to know a little more about her.  Carly has also been kind enough to share with us some gorgeous images from a recent wedding she shot.

If you like what you see you can contact Carly via her website – tell her I sent you!

Q&A with Carly Williams

How did you get into photography and, in particular, wedding photography?

My first real experience with a camera was back in high school, and it was something I loved from the very start. I continued learning for a few years after to get my skills up to scratch because I knew I wanted to pursue photography as a career. At first I wasn’t interested in shooting weddings because I was very young so nobody took me seriously, but after I was married myself and understood the wedding industry a bit better I felt confident enough to tackle it.

What qualifications do you hold?

It’s not essential to have a qualification to be a professional photographer, but I have an Advanced Diploma in Visual Communication and a Bachelor of Arts.

After becoming qualified what are some of the job you worked in before starting your own business?

I started working as a photographer when I was still studying, shooting University Graduations and School balls for a company. It taught me a lot about working with people and using studio equipment. I moved into real estate for a couple of years, and even had a shot at Band photography, product work and corporate events.

When did you start your own business?

I decided to focus on freelance photography when I became more confident with my skill level, and this was the beginning of my own business. It was always my plan from the beginning so it was just a matter of time. Since then I have narrowed down to shooting mostly weddings and portraits because it is an area I enjoy the most.

How do you try to capture the essence of a couple when you are shooting them?

I ask the bride and groom a lot of questions in our initial meeting so I have an idea of what they like and what they expect. On the day I try to capture as many candid moments as possible. Even when a shot is posed, I still like to engage them in a conversation to keep the mood fun and relaxed.

You see a lot of weddings – do you have any general tips for brides/grooms whether to do with photography or not?

Keep your wedding personal and don’t pay too much attention to passing trends. Gather lots of inspiration and include personal touches to make your day unique and special.

Images by CJ Williams Photography

Leave a Reply

