nautical nuptials

I have never been good with boats.  Nope, me and boats just aren’t friends.  I was reminded of this yesterday when I went to Rottnest Island with my husband and some of his workmates.  For those of you who may not know WA, Rottnest Island is a mere 45 minute ferry ride from the mainland.  45 minutes too many for me.

I’ve been to Rottnest Island several times and each time I have been pretty lucky with fairly tame seas and a relatively smooth ride.  Perhaps that had lulled me into a false sense of security because I wasn’t too worried before I got on board yesterday morning.  However, 5 minutes later and I was enduring the worst boat ride of my life, contemplating jumping into the water and swimming back to shore, and making a vow never to get on a boat ever again for the rest of my life!

Needless to say, I would not be the type of person to have a nautical themed wedding.  However, if you are more compatible with the ocean than I, you should definitely check out these cute new decor items from Bhldn which I came across today.  They really are almost cute enough to make me want to get back on that boat.  Almost.

Top row left to right: Moored Devotion ring pillow; Starboard Favour Bags; Silvery Seashell ring holder; Ship-in-a-bottle.  Bottom row left to right: Rope handle tealight holders; Maritime Drink Stirrers; Sailor’s Course Candelabra; Tentacled Server Cake Stand, all available from Bhldn.

Leave a Reply

