vintage china, how i adore thee

It may be a sign of getting old but over the years I have fallen in love with pretty china!

Vintage china crockery was the starting point for our wedding decor.  Before we had decided on anything else we had hired mismatched plates and pretty tea cups.  Old china just never fails to add a touch of class and occasion to a table setting and mismatched china is even better as it creates a real point of interest – I loved seeing the many photographs guests took at our wedding of their own table setting as well as those of others.

To my delight, many cafes and restaurants around town are jumping on board the vintage crockery trend – Taylor’s Studio Cafe in the Swan Valley and Chapels on Whatley being two of my favourites.  Taylor’s serves its tea and coffee in gorgeous mismatched cups which look as if they have been found in the back of your grandmother’s cupboard, whilst Chapels has gone a bit more upmarket, serving their specialty teas in genuine Wedgewood china.

For Christmas this year, my husband, having picked up on my aversion to drinking tea out of anything that is not pretty and delicate, bought me the gorgeous Harlequin Polka Dot teapot by Wedgewood as the first piece in my own mismatched china collection.

 Now I just need to learn to how to bake some delicious treats to go along with it (I think this is what he was hoping for when he bought it)!  Speaking of which, a friend bought me the most beautiful book for my birthday.  Called Tea and Cake: Recipes for the perfect afternoon tea, its pretty illustrations by Emma Block are the perfect inspiration for someone who maybe needs a bit of inspiration when it comes to cooking…!

Leave a Reply

