bonjour!

Yay I have a blog!!!

I thought for my first post I would write a bit about what this blog is going to be about.  Or at least what I intend it to be about, until I change my mind 10 minutes later… (I tend to do that a lot!)

For as long as I can remember I have had big dreams and an active imagination.  When I get an idea in my head I obsess over it and have to make it happen, even when others may see it as impractical or unachievable.  (My husband will testify to this, and probably my family too!)  This was why I thought Flights of Fancy was an appropriate name for my blog – it kind of describes what I’m all about!

For this reason I am still somewhat surprised that I ended up becoming a lawyer!  Who could imagine a less creative, less imaginative job??  Yet this is where I ended up, due mainly to my love of language and desire to help people (whilst wearing nice suits).

I have practised law for over 7 years now but during that time have dreamed of doing something more creative with my life.  I have lots of plans for the coming year to try and make some of the things I have dreamed about happen and I guess I am hoping that this blog will be the start of my “more creative life”…

I intend this blog to be about all those things I experience in my daily life that make my heart skip a beat.  That could be anything from seeing a beautiful pair of shoes to drinking tea from a pretty tea cup to discovering an amazing new restaurant to coming across an amazing online shop I’ve never heard of to hearing a great new song on the radio… there are many things that make my heart skip a beat!

I admit that, having just planned my own wedding and with intentions of starting my own event planning business, weddings are very much on my radar at the moment, so you can probably expect quite a few posts about wedding related things.  But there will be lots of other things featured- hopefully things that people other than myself might enjoy reading about!  For now I’m just happy to be able to have this creative outlet whether anyone other than my husband reads it or not =)

So now I sign off from my first post!  Thanks for reading!

6 comments

  1. Great work Kris – love the 1st blog. So happy you’re moving forward with your new creative life.
    Can’t wait to read more xxx

  2. I will be a devoted fan of FIlights of Fancy, you can be my inspiration to be a little creative myself 🙂 Scientists are also not known for their creativity 😉 xx

Leave a Reply

