more of what i love

This week I did something that I have been wanting to do for a long time - I enrolled in a writing course.

I have always loved writing.  I remember when I was in primary school I would spend hours writing short stories.  I had books and books filled with my writing.  In highschool I loved English and media classes.  I never thought I would end up being anything other than a journalist.  Writing was always a way for me to be someone other than who I felt I was.  Through my writing I was articulate, creative and confident – qualities I didn’t exhibit in my day-to-day life.  Even today I feel so much more confident writing a letter or an email than speaking to someone – I’d happily write a 5,000 word essay but cringe at the thought of having to do a 5 minute presentation.

After school I enrolled to study media at university.  Unfortunately I found my first year quite disillusioning.  With a focus on theory and little time for creativity I didn’t find it enjoyable or challenging.  The only time I got to show any form of creativity was in my Film and Television class but I was part of a group full of people who weren’t very creative or very serious about the class.  So I thought that maybe Law was a better option for me as it would be a more challenging degree and a good background for a journalist to have.  I had never contemplated studying Law before that and I definitely didn’t study it with the intention of becoming a lawyer.  But somehow that’s exactly what I became.

Over the years I’ve continued to write bits and pieces and every year I promise myself that I will dedicate more time to it, take a writing course, and maybe even enter some writing competitions.  But every year I chicken out, paralysed by the fear of sharing my writing with others, and so my half-written stories continue to sit on my computer.

This year though I am not making any more excuses.  I get so much enjoyment from writing and I am at that point in my life where I just want to try and do more of what I love and less of what I don’t.  Through my business I have had a taste of what it’s like to earn money doing something I love, and I could think of nothing better than being able to earn money from my writing as well.

The course I’ve enrolled in is only a short one and it focuses on writing features for magazines and other publications, but I think that’s a good place to start as I love to write feature articles and if nothing else it will be useful for my blog.  And maybe one day I’ll be brave enough to do a creative writing course and share some of those half-written stories with other people.

IMG_7177

I’ve never felt more inspired to write than when I was in Paris – the history of the city, beauty of the buildings and the romantic culture combine to create the perfect conditions for creativity!

4 thoughts on “more of what i love

  1. Awesome Kristy… DO IT! looking forward to reading it! I know it’s been said a lot but you can only really excel when you’re doing what you love.

    • Thanks Jason! It’s so inspiring to meet people like you who have managed to make a successful career out of doing what they love even though the easy option would have been to keep doing what you were doing before :)

Leave a Reply

